Tags

, , ,

This has been a week of emotional highs and lows.   Earlier this week, Monday to be precise started out as a fantastic day with sunshine, walking to my favorite places, first barbeque of the season(after cleaning it up that morning), a great movie  and then a phone message that my best friend’s mother had been in a car accident.  My friend is also my roommate, we are like sisters, we have known each other since we were little girls.  Her mother is like a second mother to me and I was upset to hear that she had been hurt.  Needless to say Monday night wasn’t an easy night and the next day my friend had to drive to visit her mother in another city in the hospital.  She has a road to recovery, with a cracked sternum and pelvis, it could have been so much worse.  They transferred her mother to the hospital in her own town and then after getting her settled my friend drove home.  It was a very emotional day, she was just relieved to see her mother and know she was okay.  My friend also had to deal with the police, the insurance people, seeing the car to collect personal items , and then phone each one of her older sisters (who were very grateful to her) to fill them in.   I don’t want to go into all of the details because the point I want  to make is that when are emotions are tangled up we may be able to sort them out through expressing ourselves creatively.  I know that’s been playing out in my mind since we got the news.  Emotions can get out of hand and perspective can be lost, but if tap into our creative side we can explore and heal those tough emotions.  You just have to read some poetry to see how people use creativity to heal.    I am always interested in hearing from other writers, artists, and others about their creativity.   By the way my friend’s mother is expected to make a full recovery.  She will be in the hospital for awhile, have extensive therapy and need help at home, but she will be good, she’s even talking about what make of car she would like to own next.   We are all proud of her!

