Tags

, , , , , ,

Cover of "The Artist's Way: A Course in D...

Cover via Amazon

 Creativity flourishes in an atmosphere of safety and acceptance.”

Julia Cameron -The Artist’s Way 1998

     Thus began my journey to recovering my creativity.  Julia Cameron has become one of the most influential people in my life. Her ground breaking program the Artist’s Way brought me back to my senses.  I had gone through many years of feeling as though I was falling through the cracks. I was too concerned about gaining approval, the struggle to succeed and of course it had to be a struggle.  To reach this pinnacle of so-called perfection, having it all, only to find that I was sliding down a slippery slope and ultimately not feeling any sense of fulfillment.

     After my initial discovery of Susan Jeffers, Ph.D.  Feel the Fear And Do It Anyway and Marianne Williamson  A Return to Love a friend and I  discovered the Artist’s Way which was a turning point in both my emotional and creative life.  I was ready to fully come into my own, to hear the inner voice that had been there underneath all the surface chatter.  We have a record in our heads, the messages that we keep playing over and over again through out our day that tend to cloud our judgement, our feelings about ourselves and our decisions.  What Julia’s writing and course ultimately helped me to do is get below that surface  chatter where all of those ideas come from.  Reaching within our souls we create a path of creativity that is life altering.

     I am still using one of the most important tools that Julia introduced to me Morning Pages-– three pages of longhand writing, strictly a stream of consciousness.  As stated in the book, “There is no wrong way of doing morning pages”.    So each morning one drops into the Well below the surface and clears the path.  I needed to realize that it was safe to be me and to express myself in all the ways that I wanted to.  Thank-you Julia Cameron!

     Over the coming weeks I will be sharing with you all of the influences that have played a part in my creative life and how it has shaped my journey for the better.  Here’s to all of us making creative discoveries and sharing them with each other.

                  The purpose of art is not a rarefied, intellectual distillate-it is life, intensified, brilliant life.

Alain Arias-Misson

